• News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
BW Businessworld

RLD Wins Khatauli, BJP Grabs Rampur Sadar from SP in UP Bypolls

Khatauli was grabbed by Rashtriya Lok Dal candidate Madan Bhaiya, while SP’s stronghold Rampur Sadar was grabbed by BJP candidate Akash Saxena

Photo Credit : RLD/Twitter


It was a mixed day for the Bharatiya Janata Party in Uttar Pradesh. While the party lost out to Rashtriya Lok Dal in Khatauli, it managed to grab Rampur Sadar from Samajwadi Party. 

Khatauli was grabbed by Rashtriya Lok Dal candidate Madan Bhaiya. An ally of Samajwadi Party, RLD was seen working really hard in this BJP stronghold seat. Madan Bhaiya defeated BJP’s Rajkumari Saini by 22,000 votes. It may be recalled that the bypolls were being held in Khatauli in Muzzafarpur district due to disqualification of BJP legislator Vikram Singh Saini after his conviction and sentence of a two-year of imprisonment by a district court in a 2013 riots case. BJP had given the party’s bypoll ticket to Saini’s wife. 

The BJP, however, won the Muslim-dominated Rampur Sadar seat, considered a stronghold of Samajwadi Party’s senior leader Mohammad Azam Khan. BJP candidate Akash Saxena defeated his nearest Samajwadi Party rival Asim Raja by a margin of 33,702 votes. 

This is the first time that BJP has won in Rampur Sadar. sim Raja is known to be a close confidante of Azam Khan but could not manage to retain the party’s bastion in assembly bypolls.