Advertisement

  • News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
  • Editorial Calendar 19-20
BW Businessworld

WhatsApp Rolls Out View Once Feature

To use the view once feature, the sender would need to tap the '1' button beside the Send button before sending the image/video.

Photo Credit :

1628077855_5Iv5W4_Whatsapp.jpg

Facebook-owned WhatsApp has rolled out the 'View Once' feature for both android and iOS users. This feature will automatically delete photos and videos after the recipient has viewed them once. 

WhatsApp in its blog post said that like all chats, 'View Once' media is also protected by end-to-end encryption and nobody, apart from sender and receiver can access it. Moreover, the media sent by using this feature will not be saved to the recipient's Gallery. Moreover, Recipient won't be able to share, save and forward these messages.

To use the view once feature, the sender would need to tap the '1' button beside the Send button before sending the image/video. Thats' all, after this, the media will be deleted once the recipient views it.

Notably, the 'View Once' feature will also self-destruct if they remain unopened by the recipient for two weeks. Moreover, the sender will only get to know the seen status of these messages if the recipient has read receipts turned on. 

In a blog post, WhatsApp revealed that once opened, 'View Once' media won't be included in backups. Also, senders need to select the 'View Once' option each time they send media. Importantly, WhatsApp claimed that once opened, the media will be not available for recipients but it may continue to live on WhatsApp servers "for a few weeks".

It may be recalled that the 'View Once' feature was in beta testing for around a month before public release.


Tags assigned to this article:
whatsapp View Once feature