• News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
  • Editorial Calendar 19-20
BW Businessworld

Star’s Uday Shankar, Zee’s Punit Goenka Bag ‘Impact’ Awards

Photo Credit :

Star India's CEO Uday Shankar has been named ‘Impact Person of the Decade 2014’ for his contribution to the media and advertising industry over the last 10 years. Maharashtra Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao presented Shankar with the honour last week.

In a separate presentation at the same function, the Governor presented the ‘Impact Person of the Year’ Award to Punit Goenka, MD and CEO of Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd (ZEEL) in the presence of Dr. Subhash Chandra, Chairman, Essel Group and Mr. Anurag Batra, Chairman, exchange4media Group. Goenka bagged the award for his efforts in bringing about change in television audience measurement in the country as chairman of the Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC), driving profitability in the broadcast sector and steering ZEEL to a steady rise.

 Accepting the award, Shankar said: "There is nothing more special than peer recognition. I consider myself a creation of this industry, and for this industry to recognise that I might have made some impact on the last decade fills me with a sense of both pride and gratitude." Shankar said while accepting the award.

Lauding Shankar’s journey, the Governor said: “His agenda of driving a social change through programs like 'Satyamev Jayate' has had a huge impact. In a country where cricket is a religion, he has brought to the fore games like Hockey and Kabaddi and demonstrated how these games could also be popularised in a changing world." Bollywood superstar Aamir Khan, who hosts social issues-based show 'Satyamev Jayate' congratulated Shankar in a recorded message.

Instituted by the Impact’ magazine, the 10th edition of the Impact Awards included heavyweight nominees such as Sam Balsara, Chairman and Managing Director, Madison World, Piyush Pandey, Executive Chairman and Creative Director – South Asia, Ogilvy & Mather India, Prasoon Joshi, Chairman, McCann WorldGroup, B D Park, President and CEO of Samsung, and Sachin Bansal and Binny Bansal, CEO & COO, respectively, of Flipkart.