• News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
  • Editorial Calendar 19-20
BW Businessworld

Monsoon Session: Rajya Sabha Adjourns For The Day

Photo Credit :

As soon as the Rajya Sabha reassembled at 2 pm, CPM’s Sitaram Yechury, Samajwadi Party’s Naresh Agarwal and Congress’s Pramod Tiwari demanded that the guilty in “Lalitgate” resign following which a discussion could be held in the House.
Leader of the House, Arun Jaitley, said that the government was ready for a discussion. Earlier, Union Minister Sushma Swaraj had also said that she was r ready to give all answers on “Lalitgate” issue on the floor of the House.
After the Chair allowed a discussion on the issue, and asked Congress’s Anand Sharma or Pramod Tiwari to move the motion, Congress members trooped into the Well demanding the Union Minister’s, Rajasthan Chief Minister’s and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister’s resignations.
Following this, the House was adjourned till 3 pm and eventually adjourned for the day.
Uproar Over Lalitgate
As expected the monsoon session of Parliament had began on a story note, with the Opposition demanding the resignation of Union Minister Sushma Swaraj and Vasundhara Raje in “Lalitgate scam”.
The Lok Sabha was adjourned for the day after obituary references, but in the Rajya Sabha, the Opposition Congress raised the issue of “Lalitgate” as soon as the House assembled.
Party leader Anand Sharma was the first to raise the issue; he was supported by Opposition leaders like Mayawati who demanded that leaders implicated in “Lalitgate” should resign.
Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said that the government was read to discuss any issue, but his voice was drowned down by the shouting Opposition members.
Later, Jaitley told the media that Opposition was bent on disrupting the proceedings when the government had offered to discuss all possible issues.
The Rajya Sabha was adjourned twice, first till 12. 30 pm and then till 2 pm.

Tags assigned to this article:
Monsoon Session of Parliament rajya sabha suman k jha