• News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
BW Businessworld

Karnataka Election 2018 Final Results: No Clear Mandate

BJP seemingly falling short of clear majority allows the Congress to form an alliance with JDS. Who will form the Goverment?

Karnataka Elections 2018: How Votes Swung

The Bharatiya Janta Party emerged as a winner with 104 seats. From a mere 40 seats in 2013, they have clearly made the Modi magic work in 2018. 

Congress and JDS, both lost their ground losing seats in comparison to 2013.

Karnataka Elections 2018: The Major Highlights


  • A total of 222 of the 224 assembly constituencies in the state went to polls in Karnataka. Polling for R R Nagar seat was deferred on account of alleged electoral malpractices while it was countermanded in Jayanagar seat following the death of the BJP candidate.

  • BJP won back areas - Coastal Karnataka and Malnad region - that it had lost in 2013. 

  • BJP’s CM candidate Yeddyurappa won  Shikaripura seat by a margin of over 35,000 votes 


  • JD(S) chief HD Kumaraswamy wins Ramanagara and Channapatna

  •  Incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah wins Badami, but loses Chamundeshwari 

  • BJP emerges as the largest party but fails to get the requisite number of seats to form Govt.  

  • Congress reached out to JDS offering alliance. Agrees to almost all demands. Ready to back Kumaraswamy as Chief Minister. 

  • Siddaramaiah submits resignation to Governor   


  • Two independent candidates have agreed to support the Congress, News18 has reported.       

  • HD Kumaraswamy informs Governor that he has accepted the support of Indian National Congress and seeks an appointment.

  • BJP Candidate Yeddyurappa also seeks appointment from Governor. 

What  Are Politicians Saying?

What Tweeteratis Are Saying?

Tags assigned to this article:
karnata elections 2018 karnataka elections

Top themes and market attention on: