Advertisement

  • News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
  • Editorial Calendar 19-20
BW Businessworld

Gmail Messages Can Now Self-Destruct

Photo Credit :

A new tool for Gmail lets you revoke access to messages whenever you want. 
 
Dmail, a new Google Chrome plugin, gives you complete control over how long your recipient can view your email.
 
When sending an email through Gmail, users can set a specific time when the message will self-destruct, ranging anywhere from an hour to a week. And even emails without a specific self-destruct timer can still be recalled by the sender at any time, making them unviewable to the recipient.
 
If you don't have a predetermined time frame, pick "never" as your time frame. If you need to revoke it at a later date, you can find the email in your sent folder and do so.
 
All messages are encrypted and whenever the sender restricts the right to access, the recipient will no longer be able to see the original message.
 
Dmail is for those times when you're sending sensitive information, like passwords or account information meant for certain eyes only, you can set an email to self-destruct within a certain time.
 
Once the message self-destructs, recipients get a message that the email is no longer available when they try to read it.
 
At present, Gmail allows users to revoke sent emails. Gmail's "undo send" button only works for up to 30 seconds. Dmail gives you as much time as you like.
 
Plus, Dmail claims that they will soon unlock a feature where forwarding won't work - only the intended recipient will be able to see your message.
 
Although you can receive Dmail messages from any email account or client, you can only send them through Gmail on Chrome.
 
Dmail only works with Gmail now, but it's likely to expand to work with other services soon, with plans to release both an iOS and Android version this fall.


Tags assigned to this article:
gmail Dmail internet emails technology