Advertisement

  • News
  • Columns
  • Interviews
  • BW Communities
  • Events
  • BW TV
  • Subscribe to Print
BW Businessworld

It's Time To Save Your Facebook Data

Mounting pressure on the already troublesome scenario for Facebook, Whatsapp co-founder Brian Acton has asked his followers on twitter to delete their Facebook account

Photo Credit :

1521621631_zWRohB_Facebook-privacy-470.jpg

Facebook and its co-founder Mark Zuckerberg are going through a very difficult phase with the news that broke down over the weekend stating that a data analytics firm named Cambridge Analytica (CA) extracted Facebook data of more than 50 million users for helping Donald Trump during his election campaign.

Facebook’s shares have fallen around 10 percent on Nasdaq since then after the ‘news’ broke out that the election campaign in 2016 used data, including user likes, inappropriately obtained from Facebook users trying to influence the elections.

Mounting pressure on the already troublesome scenario for Facebook, Whatsapp co-founder Brian Acton has asked his followers on twitter to delete their Facebook account saying, “It is time. #deletefacebook”





By the looks of it, your personal data is nowhere safe. And while you may think of deleting your facebook, there are ways you can protect your data.

First things first, the feature that allowed the most shocking data breach to Cambridge Analytica no longer exists on the Facebook app. Another good thing for the users is that facebook apps are now allowed to gather the information of users who directly sign up for the apps, which was not the case earlier.

Before 2016, if a user signed up for a facebook app, it would allow the apps to gather information of their friends as well. So after 2015, it is after your permission that a facebook app can gather your information.

But, the apps can gather a lot of data from your user profile and might surprise you in return with the amount of data gathered and used. To limit sharing your data with the facebook apps, you can go to the settings page in your facebook app and manage all the apps you have logged in under the category ‘Apps’ to and manage your information being shared. From there you can remove apps logged in to and deauthorise them your using your personal data.

Another option you will find there is ‘Apps Others Use’ with the help of which Cambrigde Analytica benefitted. With 'Apps Others Use', your friends can share your data to other apps when they use it. However limited, it still shares your bio, birthday, education, work and app activity. You can disable the data being shared as per your wish.

After all this, if you feel insecure about your data being shared, you can actually delete your account. To delete it permanently, go to a help document titled “How do I permanently delete my account?” and follow the steps that follow. The process will take 90 days and then all your data from facebook will be removed.    

      

 


sentifi.com

Top themes and market attention on: